BAS JAN - Yes I Jan (LP)

sold out

BAS JAN - Yes I Jan (LP)


YES I JAN ... the debut album from BAS JAN

Released 23rd February 2018


Vinyl LP with download code, housed in a striking fluorescent orange sleeve!

Add To Cart

Bas Jan’s earliest songs were initially conceived as Serafina Steer solo material, until Bas Jan co-founder members Sarah Anderson and Jenny Moore triangulated the whole collaboration and, in 2015, the band was born.  Since recording Yes I Jan, both Sarah and Jenny have moved on to other projects, and currently joining Steer in the new incarnation of Bas Jan are violinist, bassist and vocalist Emma Smith (Meilyr Jones, Seamus Fogarty and founder member of the Elysian Quartet) and drummer and vocalist Rachel Horwood (Trash Kit, Bamboo). 

Co-written and performed by Steer, Anderson and Moore, with additional playing from Smith, Yes I Jan is a chronicle of the first two years of the band and the collection of unique personalities which helped shape its unconventional and thrilling sound and energy. Bas Jan is a collaborative project, so each member either made up or elaborated their own part within the initial song structures. All of the lyrics are by Steer, and they delight in finding hidden humour, resonance and beauty in the mundanity of the everyday, from the weird tedium of getting stuck in an aggressive text message spat, to hungoverly eating fish and chips in the faded seaside splendour of Walton on the Naze, to swaggering the just-got-paid swagger down the Holloway Road. Yes I Jan was produced in London by Capitol K at the Total Refreshment Centre, and by Leo Abrahams & Leafcutter John at Gun Factory Studios.


Side A

  1. Tide
  2. Argument
  3. Anglo Saxon Burial Ground
  4. Wilderness
  5. No Sign
  6. Walton On The Naze

Side B

  1. King Of The Holloway Road
  2. Let's
  3. Dream Of You
  4. Sat Nav (Tom Tom Mix)
  5. GSOH (Bas Jan Version)
  6. Corner Of A Studio